Knitting · Life · Spinning · Yarn

Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder

The other day I was in getting my eye check up. The doc was making conversation and he asked what I had been doing for fun so far this summer.

With great excitement I answered that I have been spinning yarn and raising fiber goats!

He blinked a few times, chuckled and said he has been asking about people’s hobbies for a long time and didn’t think he had ever heard that answer before.

I am so happy that I have rediscovered that I am an artist!

Just look at this fabulous Alpaca-Wool semi-chunky yarn I made this week.

Hand blended red-brown alpaca with white wool
Hand blended red-brown alpaca with white wool
I will be taking this out and will wait to make a permanent project when I have some larger needles available. But it still was so fun!
I will be taking this out and will wait to make a permanent project when I have some larger needles available. But it still was so fun!
Handspun is so different to knit with from store bought yarns. Even this chunky yarn easily slid on my needles.
Handspun is so different to knit with from store-bought yarns. Even this chunky yarn easily slid on my needles.

It is ridiculous how soft and cozy this hank of handspun is! I enjoyed drafting this fiber in a way that let the personalities of the two fibers merge.

I just had to put some on my knitting needles and try it out. If I had larger needles it would have been nicer. Guess I better do some shopping, most of my knitting needles are of the baby knits size.

As I knitted with it I pondered on what type of project would make this handspun personality shine. Some thoughts that came to mind were of a wooly hat, cozy slippers, or even some mittens..all things to keep one toasty warm in the wintertime. I will be keeping my eye out for great inspiration on Pinterest! ( You should look me up over there…it’s my favorite place on the web!)

What would you make with this semi-chunky, alpaca-wool, handspun yarn?

Happy Day!

H

(original post was in July 2015)

Leave a Reply

