Animals · Farmstead · Fiber Harvest · Life

Fall Fiber Harvest 2015 Part 3..and a Fire

There we were, my husband and I shearing this lovely Angora goat Hanzel.

Hanzel is truly a gentle giant. He is a super cool Angora and grows great mohair for spinning!
Hanzel is truly a gentle giant. He is a super cool Angora and grows great mohair for spinning!

He was almost finished. And then this happened…..

One side of our three car garage. Garage was a total loss.
One side of our three car garage. Garage was a total loss. The barn was behind the garage and was a total loss as well.
This is the kitchen window. Two sides of the house look like this.
This is the kitchen window. Two sides of the house look like this.

Yep. Fire.

It has been exactly a week today.  The children and I have left to stay at Granny’s house while cleanup is happening. I have asthma so I can’t be around all the nasty smoke and other ickies that are being stirred up from the remains of the garage. It could have been worse. Soooo much worse. We are all okay. No one was physically hurt. Our animals were also spared from any injury.

We are keeping the faith. There has been a great support through family, friends, and neighbors. One friend set up a Gofund me account for us, others have collected clothes for the children. Our church family has organized meals. We certainly feel the love.

Our home is log construction,so the corner of the two walls of the house that need repaired will have to be dismantled roof to floor. This kind of rebuild can not get done before the winter. Our family ( 2 adults, seven kids) plus another family that lives with us ( 2 adults, five kids), will be living out of the basement and camp trailers through next summer.

Three positives to think about:

  1. The garage didn’t match the house anyway
  2. I get a new kitchen
  3. most importantly…..my hubby made sure my spinning wheel was safe. (You can’t have him, he is mine.) I just might survive this as long as I can spin!

My little business is in pause mode. I will hit play again once we get a handle on the basics. You know like electricity and water. Camping is great….but only when you have a comfortable home to come back to.

Trying my best to keep it a…

Happy Day!

H

Leave a Reply

