Animals · Farmstead · Fiber Harvest

Fall Fiber Harvest: Part 2

Today’s saga was much less dramatic. Good for me, less entertaining for you.

(If you missed out on part I find it here)

After getting the kids started on their lessons ( the human kind, we don’t teach the goat kids math, they have short attention spans), I zoomed into town to return the broken clippers and get some better ones. By “zoomed” I mean it took three hours.

So sometime after lunch and taking care of the baby, I was ready to clip away!

This is Lacey Deer, she didn't get a haircut today. Her fleece needs more time to grow. Lacey has very little to no crimp or curl in her fleece. But she what she grows is soft and downy. I am breeding her with our buck that has a lot of curl in his locks, so I am hoping future kids will have a good mix.
This is Lacey Deer, she didn’t get a haircut today. Her fleece needs more time to grow. Lacey has very little to no crimp or curl in her fleece. But  what she grows is soft and downy. I am breeding her with our buck that has a lot of curl in his locks, so I am hoping future kids will have a good mix.

It took us about twenty minutes, but we caught a couple of Pygoras. The only one we couldn’t get ahold of was the first one to get a bad haircut yesterday. Don’t blame her, I wouldn’t return to a salon that did a poor job and didn’t even finish.

My next customers may not have been happy about getting their beautiful locks cut off, but they sure looked a lot better when done than before! I managed to clip 2 goats in half the time it took to do one yesterday!

First cut on Thor, our Pygora Buck. Wish my daughter would of got his cute face in the pic, but oh well. His fleece was so incredible! I cannot wait to get it clean and ready to spin!
First cut on Thor, our Pygora Buck. Wish my daughter would of got his cute face in the pic, but oh well. His fleece was so incredible! I cannot wait to get it clean and ready to spin!
This is Gaston, our Pygora whether. He was happy to be free and didn't seem to mind his new look.
This is Gaston, our Pygora whether. He was happy to be free and didn’t seem to mind his new look. I left him a little “beard”, so he could keep some dignity.

I was feeling so inspired from the positive out come that I decided to try the big  Angora goat, Hanzel. He was a lot harder to maneuver than my wee Pygoras. But once we got him where we wanted him he  did alright.

My daughter EV trying to entertain Hanzel and make him less nervous.
My daughter EV trying to entertain Hanzel and make him less nervous.
Elsie our Nubian nanny had a need to say hello to Hanzel.
Elsie our Nubian nanny had a need to say hello to Hanzel.

Unfortunately I only managed to cut a small area of his mohair locks because the blade on my clippers were dull.

But overall I am satisfied with the day’s results. There are still two goats with bad haircuts waiting to be fixed but a couple others are all done!

Stay tuned for sharpened clippers and the results of the last two goatee goats!

(Go to Part 3)

Happy Day

H

Leave a Reply

